1. Home
  2. Careers
  3. Professional Scrum Master (PSM) – A Comprehensive Analysis

Professional Scrum Master (PSM) – A Comprehensive Analysis

PSM I credential


PSM, the Professional Scrum Master™ I offered by Scrum.org, is a globally recognized certification designed for professionals seeking in-depth mastery over the Scrum framework. Created by Scrum co-creator Ken Schwaber, the PSM certification is known for its rigorous assessments.

Demand and Market Value

PSM I certification was rated among the top three certifications held by Agilist respondents in Scrum.org’s 2019 Scrum Master Trends survey by Scrum.org. With Scrum being the most commonly used agile framework, the popularity of PSM I as a lucrative and career-defining certification continues to grow. After the initial PSM I, aspirants may take the PSM II and PSM III exams to demonstrate further knowledge in the Scrum Master domain.

PSM Benefits

  • No mandatory course is required, allowing for quick acquisition
  • Prestigious recognition of Scrum knowledge and proficiency
  • Access to further Scrum.org credentials

Where to Take Training for Certification

Training under PSTs or a Professional Training Network (PTN) member of Scrum.org is required for those seeking guidance. Options include face-to-face courses taught by Professional Scrum Trainers (PSTs), private coaching, or 16 hours of live online training with a PST. KnowledgeHut is a Professional Training Network member of Scrum.org.

Eligibility for PSM Exam

There are no specific eligibility criteria, but the exam demands a high level of Scrum knowledge.

Duration to Get Certified

Including course (if taken) and study time, the total time required to achieve PSM certification can be approximately 20 hours.

PSM Course and Exam Fees

  • Course Fee for Certification: $1,299 USD
  • Exam Fee for Certification: $150 USD per attempt

Exam Format

  • 80 multiple-choice questions and True/False questions
  • Duration: 1 hour
  • Pass mark: 85%
  • Retake Fee for Certification: Two attempts are permitted within 14 days after you receive your key at no additional cost.


Scrum.org trainers are generally commended for the quality of their training. However, it’s important to note that there is no minimum quality standard required to maintain Trainer status. Trainers must pay $2,000 per year and attend an annual event at their own expense.


The Professional Scrum Master™ I certification represents a profound understanding of Scrum principles and practices. It is ideal for those who are confident in their Scrum knowledge or who wish to prove their skills through a demanding assessment. For those considering other certifications with diverse approaches to Scrum mastery, the Registered Scrum Master (RSM) through CAVU might also be of interest.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *